Ford GT Racing

Latest News

DEC 5, 2018 | Ford Performance Staff

Westbrook Awarded the Earl Howe Trophy


DEARBORN - Ford Chip Ganassi Racing driver Richard Westbrook was awarded the Earl Howe trophy from the prestigious British Racing Drivers’ Club for best-performing driver in America among any series in 2018.

Westbrook, who earned the award on committee vote, won three IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship races in 2018, including the Rolex 24 At Daytona with co-drivers Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon. He topped the podium again at Mosport and Road America with Briscoe to hold the GTLM points standings for much of the season. They ultimately finished second in the championship standings, six points out of first place.

“Just being in the room for the ceremony is quite an honor,” Westbrook said. “You’re surrounded by true legends of motorsport. We’re quite a tight-knit group. I was happy to win the Earl Howe award again. It was a really good season, winning the Rolex 24 and coming so close to taking the championship.”

Westbrook, 43, lives in Bath, England with his wife and two daughters. He last won the Earl Howe trophy in 2015.