Stock Car Racing

Latest News

MAY 15, 2017 | Ford Performance Staff


NASCAR Winston Cup Series, Charlotte.

DEARBORN - There are some significant nominees with Ford Motor Company ties on the 2018 NASCAR Hall of Fame ballot this year, and the Hall has invited fans to help select who will be inducted into the next class.

Among those on the ballot are current Ford team owners Jack Roush and Roger PenskeRobert Yates, co-founder of Roush Yates Engines and the 1999 NASCAR champion team owner for Ford; 1992 NASCAR Champion Alan Kulwicki; 19-time Ford Cup winner Davey AllisonBuddy Baker, who had 19 wins for a variety of teams including Bud Moore and the Wood Brothers; two-time champion engine-builder for David Pearson in 1968-69 with Holman-Moody, Waddell Wilson; and Ricky Rudd, the sport's Iron Man, who had 23 wins in more than 900 starts, including his own team, Bud Moore and the Wood Brothers.

For the next four weeks, we will be highlighting each of these nominees and some of their Ford achievements. Fans are encouraged to go to the NASCAR Hall of Fame website to vote between now and May 22.

We continue this week with Waddell Wilson.

One of the legendary operations in Ford Performance’s NASCAR history is Holman-Moody, and Waddell Wilson had a front row seat as a key contributor with that organization.  He made his reputation as one of the top engine builders upon joining the team and producing the power that took Fireball Roberts to victory lane in the 1963 Southern 500 at Darlington.

As the sixties wound down, his stature grew even more as he was part of the Ford crew that helped Mario Andretti win the 1967 Daytona 500.  Wilson, who also worked with current NASCAR Hall of Famer Fred Lorenzen during his Holman-Moody days, closed out the decade in grand fashion as he built the power that took David Pearson to consecutive Cup championships in 1968 and 1969.  That marked the second and third titles for Ford overall, and the first time the manufacturer captured consecutive crowns.

Additional 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominees:

Davey Allison
Buddy Baker
Roger Penske
Alan Kulwicki
Ricky Rudd
Jack Roush
Robert Yates