Stock Car Racing


#17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Car #17 Fusion
Sponsor Fastenal, Zest, EcoBoost, Cargill
Crew Chief Nick Sandler
Hometown Olive Branch, Miss.
Birthday OCT 2, 1987

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has been driving for car owner Jack Roush in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series for three full seasons, but it’s the fourth that he hopes will yield results similar to those that produced back-to-back championships in the NASCAR XFINITY Series.

The driver of the No. 17 Roush Fenway Fusion has had mixed results during his brief Cup career, but he showed signs at the end of last season that things might be turning around.  He registered two of his three top-10 finishes during the final eight races of 2015, and had a streak of five straight Chase races in which he finished 13th or better.

Stenhouse has a track record of success, which includes NASCAR XFINITY Series championships in 2011 and 2012, and Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in 2013 after finishing 19th in the final point standings. 

Stenhouse joined the Roush Fenway Racing organization in 2008 when he drove a full season of ARCA, winning twice in 21 starts.  From there, he moved up to XFINITY, where he ran seven races for the team in 2009 and all but three of the 35 events in 2010. 

A native of Olive Branch, MS, Stenhouse made his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series debut in 2011 when he substituted for an ailing Trevor Bayne in the No. 21 Motorcraft/Quick Lane Fusion of the Wood Brothers.  He qualified ninth for the Coca-Cola 600 in May and finished 11th.  Stenhouse also raced four times in the No. 6 Ford for Roush on the NSCS side in 2012, with a 12th-place finish at Dover as his highest effort.

· Stenhouse is one of six drivers to win a NASCAR championship for car owner Jack Roush, joining Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth, Carl Edwards, Kurt Busch and Chris Buescher.

· He also became only the sixth driver to win back-to-back NASCAR Nationwide championships, joining Sam Ard, Larry Pearson, Randy LaJoie, Dale Earnhardt Jr., and Martin Truex Jr.

· Before getting into the stock car ranks, Stenhouse drove for Tony Stewart in the USAC National Sprint Car and USAC National Midget series. 


Stenhouse became the sixth driver in NASCAR history to win the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award in both the NASCAR Nationwide and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.  The others are Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Johnny Benson, Ricky Craven and Jeff Gordon.