Stock Car Racing


#22 Ryan Blaney

Car #22 Mustang
Sponsor Discount Tire/Snap-On
Crew Chief Greg Erwin
Hometown High Point, N.C.
Birthday DEC 31, 1993

There has been an influx of quality young drivers into NASCAR’s top three touring series the last two years and one of them is undoubtedly Ryan Blaney, who will be making the move up to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series level this year with the Wood Brothers.

Seat time is something Blaney has focused on the last two years with Team Penske and Brad Keselowski Racing, and last season proved to be a huge success as he ran at least one race in the NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCAR Nationwide and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.   He posted one victory each in the NASCAR Camping World Truck (Canadian Tire Motorsport Park) and NASCAR Nationwide Series (Bristol) while making the first two starts of his NASCAR Sprint Cup career at Kansas and Talladega.

The son of NASCAR veteran Dave Blaney, Ryan ran the full 2014 NCWTS season for F-150 truck owner Brad Keselowski and finished second in the series point standings behind champion Matt Crafton.  He also helped the No. 22 Nationwide  team post its second team championship for car owner Roger Penske as he shared that Mustang ride with teammates Joey Logano, Alex Tagliani, Michael McDowell and Keselowski.

Plans for 2015 call for him to run at least a dozen races for the Wood Brothers with the possibility of as many as 20 depending on sponsorship.   In addition, he will run select Nationwide events with Team Penske.

  • Blaney made his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series debut in the first Kansas race of 2014 as a third Fusion entry for Team Penske and finished 27th.
  • In the last four years, Blaney has made 99 starts in six different series, including NNS, NCWTS, K&N Pro East, K&N Pro West, NASCAR Whelen Modified and ARCA.
  • Blaney has won a NASCAR Nationwide and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race in each of the last two years.


Blaney found Victory Lane at Iowa Speedway on Sept. 15, 2012 driving for Keselowski in only his third career start to become the youngest winner in series history (18 years, 8 months, 15 days).